Eternity

 

~Picture is not mine.

 

I stood with God on the edge of the world,

and my hand was in His hand.

I looked down the road of the past,

as it stretched away in the dim distance,

till it was shrouded in the mists of time.

And I knew it had no beginning,

and a little chill wind of fear blew about my head.

God asked, “Are you afraid?”

And I said, “Yes, because I cannot understand how there

can be no beginning.”

So God said, “Let us turn and face the other way.”

And I looked into glory,

and my heart rejoiced with joy unspeakable.

And then my mind went ahead, a billion, billion years,

and I knew there would be no end,

and again that little chill wind of fear began to blow.

And God asked me again, “Are you afraid?”

And I answered, “A little, because I cannot

understand how there can be no end.”

So God asked me tenderly,

“Are you afraid now, today, with your hand in Mine?”

And I looked up at Him and smiled and replied,

“O my Father, No!”

And God said,

“Every day in eternity will be today.”

— Martha Snell Nicholson

That is the God we serve. Everyday is today with God. God has no past, no future. He doesn’t have a future. God sees the future as today. So, whatever happens in your life, please rest in the knowledge that God is holding your hands right now, today, tomorrow and forever. I wish you all a wonderful Thanksgiving Holiday, but most importantly, please reflect on why you are alive today and what is your calling in life? What are you thankful for?

 

Leave a Reply

